Thursday, June 21, 2012

“If You Like This…” Vol. 2: Children’s Summer Edition

Last month the Warwick’s staff gave readers an “If You Like This…” suggestion list and we had such a positive response that we have decided to try and make it a regular series. As school gets out more and more parents having been wandering around our children’s book section looking for that perfect book for their kids. Whether it’s for a long drive, flight, or just to keep them away from the television, parents are spending more and more time looking for summer books. So, this month’s edition of “If You Like This…” is dedicated to our younger readers.

Middle Readers:

If you like Jeanne Birdsall’s Penderwicks series…

Try Summer at Forsaken Lake by Michael D. Beil. This is a book that perfectly captures the summer adventures of young children. The book, like the Penderwicks series is humorous with just enough mystery to enthrall readers. A great summer read for kids’ ages 8-11.

If you like Inkheart by Cornelia Funke…

Storybound by Marissa Burt is a great book to pick up. Storybound follows a 12-year-old orphan girl, Una, who magically gets sucked into the mysterious Land of Story, a place where everyone is a type of storybook character; heroes, villains, sorcerers, princesses; all training to become part of their own stories. Only, what is young Una doing there and who wrote her into this magical land? A fun book, with great adventure, magic, and dastardly villain, Storybound is a sure hit.

If you like Wonder by R.J. Palacio…

Wonder is a book that the Warwick’s staff just can’t stop talking about and now our readers are right on board with our staff. Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine is just the right book to follow Wonder. Mockingbird is told from the prospective of 10-year-old Caitlin who has Asperger’s Syndrome and must deal with the death of her older brother and protector Devon. Like Wonder, Mockingbird deals with the issues of special needs children, family life, and fitting into a school when you are different. A great book for parents and kids to read together and discuss.

Teens:

If you like I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith…

Like a little visit to the past? Try Keeping the Castle by Patrice Kindl. Much like the beloved I Capture the Castle, this book rests upon the shoulders of a young heroine, bearing the burden of her family as they live in genteel poverty. While Kindl’s book takes readers to 19th-century England (as opposed to the 20th-century), it’s pacing and characters have the same charm as Dodie Smith’s, creating a funny, romantic, and engaging new story.

If you love books like Eon by Alison Goodman or the Eragon series by Christopher Paolini…

For magic, adventure, dragons, and hidden identities pick-up the newly released Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. This wonderful new book is the perfect tale for readers who enjoy Eon and Eragon, but don’t want to necessarily delve full on into paranormal. For the slightly older teen looking for the same qualities, but with a touch of romance, and even more danger look at the Firelight series by Sophie Jordan. A good series, this is definitely aimed more at the crowd who has enjoyed books like Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver or other Twilight-esque reads, while staying with the dragon theme.



If you like If I Stay by Gayle Forman or Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher…

John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, a heart-breaking story of young love, loss, and life is for you. It perfectly creates three-dimensional characters that deal with the tragedies of their lives in different ways. Readers that enjoy more poignant stories that deal with real life issues and don’t hold anything back will find a goldmine in the pages of this book.

If you like…a quick guide…

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg: Read The Sixty-Eight Rooms series by Marianne Malone

Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely series: Try Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey books

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater: Check out the Raised by Wolves series by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Tamora Pierce’s Tortall books: Look at Heather Brewer’s The Legacy of Tril: Soulbound

Don’t see something that appeals to your specific tastes here? That’s fine; our Children’s Booksellers are the best in the business and love talking about some of the great new (and not so new) books available for kids and teens. So feel free to stop by and ask away, we can’t wait to hear from you!

No comments:

Post a Comment